Linkedin, is a great way to stay in touch professionally with colleagues and grow your career network. One of the most annoying things however is getting updates every time you adjust your profile, add a job or position you held or getting liked and calling attention to your updates is something that you might not want people to do. But how do you turn it off? Wouldn’t it be nice if there was a way to do that? Well let’s have a look at how you can.
As you can see below when you go to the “Privacy & Settings” section under “Account & Settings” this is where we will find our answer on how we can edit what we share across our LinkedIn network and with our LinkedIn connections.
Once you click on it you will need to go to the setting called “Turn on/off your activity broadcasts” and you will see a popup with a checkbox that says “Let people know when you change your profile, make recommendations, or follow companies“. When you uncheck this your changes we not appear as updates for when you change your profile. The downside here is that people won’t see when you recommend others and when you follow companies but I don’t think that will be an issue if you are looking for a more discrete way to used LinkedIn.
This is just one possible option when you are in Privacy and Settings in your LinkedIn account but if you want to not get congratulated every time you update a position then this will do the trick.